Widespread of technology has given people more freedom to work instead of travelling to work or college. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantage?

The popularity of technology has brought tremendous impacts on humankind in recent years. In my opinion, the advantages of technology would overshadow its disadvantages.

The contribution of cutting-edge technological equipment and application could be witnessed in many aspects of life. First, with the advent of smart devices together with wifi connection, people now are able to study at home or places that are convenient to them. Applications such as Zoom or Google Meet are optimized in order to help many people communicate at once, upload or download learning materials, record lessons easily and effectively. Therefore, studying at people's place of residence become easier than ever. Likewise, the instant connection of wireless devices also enables workers to perform their task at their houses. Job holders, who are used to be burdened with heavy workload and long hours commuting to workplaces, now can speed up their working process and stay at their living places while working simultaneously. This is because with the facilitation of automation, human's mistakes can be limited. From businesses' owners perspective, they do not have to pay for expenditures arise, when staff work in offices. Thus, it is beneficial not only the employees but also employers who can save their budget from renting space and funding neccessities for working.

However, lack of direct communication between managers and subordinates or teachers and students implies several pitfalls. The first problem is that it would lower quality of working or studying. It is unarguable that face-to-face interaction is the best form of communication among people. Therefore, if students or wage-earners heavily depend of online platforms for studying or working, they are likely to experience misinformation or misunderstanding. An additional issue is that people would feel lonely and socially isolated, if they utilized technology for long period. In-person conversation is the most essential way for people in order to building rapport and establishing meaningful relationships. Without directly talking and observing, persons are unable to see others’ body language, watch their behaviors, and listen to their real voices, these factors are fundamental for people to build trust with others.

In sum, although there are certain issues associated with using technology for work and assimilating new knowledge, the role of technology is becoming increasingly significant in modern society. I believe that with new technological breakthoughs, the weeknesses of technological invention will be limited while the positive impact of the sector will be expanded.