Wild animals are of no importance in the twenty-first century. Some people think that preventing these wild animals from dying out is a waste of resource.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In contemporary society, it is generally believed that wild animals are no longer important for human beings as they used to be. Therefore, any conservation efforts are wasteful. Personally, I totally disagree with this statement.

For a variety of reasons, it would be harmful for the ecosystem if any of species die out. Apparently, all fauna and flora play an indispensable role in the food chain because one species feed on others for survival. Such feeding habits help facilitate the life cycle of nature. Therefore, the absence of one species might lead to extinction of others. A good illustration of this can be seen in a lot of African savannahs. When the living conditions become inhospitable during the dry seasons, the number of predators, such as lions and cheetahs, drops significantly. As a result, there are not enough predators around to keep herbivore population in check. They grow in numbers and ravage the vegetation.

Apart from the abovementioned practical concerns, without conservation efforts, the disappearance of wild animals would also cause massive losses to humanity. Animal trading is a major industry and generates handsome profits for many organisations. Thus, businesses will suffer from great financial losses if there are no wild animals left to trade, which in turn can bring down the economy of a nation. Worse still, our future generations will lose opportunities to gain practical knowledge by seeing these animals . Instead, people in the next decades will be only looking at pictures or videos of animals.

Taking everything into consideration, this reinforces my perspective that wild animals are critically essential not only for the ecosystem but also for humans. Hence, there should be efforts to protect them from vanishing.