Wild animals have no place in the 21st century, so protecting them is a waste of resources. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is said that preserving wild animals is profligate as it does not bring any advantages to human development. While I agree that preventing these species from extinction can consume a lot of resources, I believe that conserving wild animals plays a vital role in human existence.

On the one hand, I agree that fighting against causes that pose an extinction threat to wild animals such as climate change, water contamination, deforestation,... requires enormous resources in terms of budget and attempt. Global warming as a result of burning fossil fuels is one of the reasons responsible for the mass extinction of various species. The substitution from fossil fuels to renewable energy technologies can consume a large amount of effort and wealth. Moreover, establishing nature conservation areas to protect wild creatures from poaching demands a vast area of land that can impede the city expansion for increasing population, leading to housing crisis.

Nevertheless, I believe that the advantages of conserving wild animals can outweigh the disadvantages. Firstly, some wild species have several ways to resist bacterias as well as cancer cells. The study and understanding of these animals will help scientists find effective treatments for dangerous diseases. Secondly, each species plays an important role in maintaining ecological balance. In which, the disappearance of a species can lead to the extinction of other species including humans. Therefore, saving wildlife means preventing humans from extinction. In addition, that humans are extremely vulnerable to the forces of nature like other animals gives us a compelling reason to protect the earth in general and wild species in separate.

In conclusion, while preserving wild animals consumes enormous resources, I do not believe that conducting efficient measures to protect them is prodigal.