Wild animals have no use in the 21st century and trying to preserve animals now is just a waste of money. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Protecting wild fauna in the contemporary world is said to be unworthy as those species do not bring any benefits to humankind. I wholly disagree with this idea due to their impact on tourism and the ecosystem that they live in.

To begin with, wildlife preservation can increase a country’s visitorship. In regions with preservation sites, they contain exotic kinds of animals that people from other places might want to observe in real life. Illustrative of this is safaris in Africa, which are home to exclusive tropical animals like elephants or rhinos. The tourism-making appeal of these countries will create visitors’ demand for catering services and programs. Therefore, animal conservation may be a cost-effective way to promote economic growth for nations with opulent natural resources and readily available facilities. It can provide indigenous people with prosperous job opportunities without much additional investment and help stabilize their lives.

With regard to the environment, protecting wild animals can retain biodiversity. There is no denying that fauna and flora are inherently related to each other. While the latter provides habitat for the former, animals when decomposing are valuable sources of nutrients for trees. Hence, preserving animal populations in the wild would also encourage floral species to flourish, thereby maintaining the ecological balance. This is specially accurate in areas with high forest canopy density such as Indonesia where animal protection has an important role to play in slowing down or even halting deforestation. As a result, it would save significant amounts of money that would otherwise be spent on restoring natural landscapes.

In conclusion, I believe that wildlife conservation at present is worthy of investments, with its being a cost-efficient way to prevent ecological disasters and promote tourism of a country.