Women and men are commonly seen as having different strengths and weaknesses. Is it right to exclude males or females from certain professsions because of their gender?

Women and men are often considered to have non-identical strengths and weaknesses. Because of this view, some people are being excluded from certain jobs. In my point of view, I strongly disagree that it is right to eliminate males or females from a determined occupation due to their gender, and I will give my reasons below.

Basically, excluding a person from a profession because of his/her gender is a manifestation of gender discrimination. A successful man depends on his/her talents and hard-work, not on the sex. In the past, there was a widespread bias that females could not take part in jobs such as: firefighter, policewoman, while males were hard to become a nanny or nurse. For example, Brenda Berkman, one of the first women to become firefighters of FDNY, was a victim of gender discrimination at her office because she was a woman. Luckily, the society is now more free, hence women can pursue their career more confidently.

In addition, the co-operation of both genders in a certain profession can boost the work efficiency. For instance, women are often the ones who are enthusiastic, therefore, criminal psychology should be undertaken by policewomen. Meanwhile, men are physical-inclined, thus criminal cases such as: escaping from prision, assassination should be tackled by the male counterparts. By taking advantages of each person’s strengths, an achievement can be made.

To summarize, I believe that there is no room for rejecting males or females to take part in a particular vocation as everyone has rights to follow their dreams, as long as they do not harm to the society and environment.