The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

Workers or even employers need to relax after contributing their best in their jobs. Some people believe that workers should have longer days to relax than usual, so they should reduce the days they have to work. Personally, I am of the opinion that employers should lengthen the day they work.

On the one hand, working for fewer hours than before can cause some negative effects. Nowadays, many countries in the world have economic depression because of some important events, such as the COVID-19 pandemic. In order to solve this problem, people must work harder than before. If residents in a country are lazy at this time, the economy in the country will be declined than usual. As a result, the development may be delayed and lead to some serious problems.

On the other hand, having more time to work than usual can tackle some problems. When workers finish their courses and have a new assignment in their holiday, they are likely to earn more money and improve their daily lives. These people can make society better than before, especially in contemporary days, when economic downturns appear in most of the world, including developed countries like Japan, and the USA. Another interesting point is that when people work harder than before, they can motivate each other. For example, when two employers work in a company, if one of them works and makes more money than usual, the others may not want to be losers so that he or she may work more than usual. This phenomenon can make a trend when these workers work harder than usual, so their daily can improve.

In conclusion, I strongly believe that employees should have more time to work, even on weekends.