Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

While some believe that new houses should be built in an identical style to the existing ones in the area, others argue that people should have freedom to design their houses to their own liking. From my perspective, I am the latter school of thought.

On the one hand, there are some reasons why all buildings in a particular area should have the same style. Firstly, when houses look similar it will enhance a sense of community and equality within a residential area. This is because a house often reflects the wealth and social status of its owner. If a house looks older, smaller, and less attractive than others, the people living there may feel inferior and less confident when socializing with their neighbors. In contrast, a house which stands out in the neighborhood could potentially make its owner the target of gossip or burglary. Secondly, when houses share a common design, it will be easier for the local government to supervise the process of construction, and to make sure that these buildings are safe for both the inhabitants and neighbors.

On the other hand, it should be people’s right to build their own house in their own style. A good building should satisfy all three principles of durability, utility, and beauty. It should not only be strong in design and be built to last a long time, but also inspire the people who live there by its aesthetic design. It is extremely important for a person to live in a house that they feel comfortable with as it largely affects their spirit. Furthermore, if each house in an area is built in a unique style, it will greatly contribute to the diverse image of the town.

In conclusion, even though there are certain justifications for houses in an area to be constructed in the same style, I am of the opinion that governments should permit people to build their houses according to their own ideas.