The world is experiencing a dramatic increase in population. This is causing problems not only for

poor, undeveloped countries, but also for industrialized and developing countries.

Describe some of the problems that overpopulation causes, and suggest at least one possible solution. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your knowledge or experience.

Overpopulation is one of the most serious issues that many countries, both underdeveloped and developing countries, have been facing nowadays. Dramatically increasing population especially in urban areas leads to many negative consequences that can be mentioned, including decreasing living standards and increasing pollution. In order to reduce the damages of overpopulation both the governments and people need to find possible solutions together.

The first salient problem of a large population is the deterioration of people’s living conditions. As the population has increased rapidly there has been not enough food and jobs for so many people. A numerous number of people shift from the rural areas to the urban cities to seek jobs and better lives. Meanwhile the cost of living is expensive because of the shortage of food as well as other necessary products and services. Analogously, the healthcare systems have been facing an overwhelming lead to each citizen not being cared for well enough. The common spectacles in densely populated metropolitan areas are overcrowded, makeshift housing in slums. A clear demonstration of these problems can be observed in India, the world’s second most populous country struggling with poverty and the current Covid-19 pandemic.

Another consequence that overpopulation countries face is pollution. A great amount of industrial and household garbage is discharged into the environment poisoning the water and soil seriously. Alternatively, there are so many factories and private vehicles emit gases that pollute the air, leading to global warming. For example, Vietnam nowadays often witnesses an alarming level of air pollution as a result of a sharp increase in personal vehicles and construction sites to meet the demand of the booming of population in big cities.

There are some effective solutions to cope with the consequences of rapid population growth. First of all, the governments should raise awareness about the importance of family planning and the ways to control the size of family to citizens. Minor children also should be educated about sex and safe sex to reduce the rate of unexpected fertility. The other solution is to put in place policies restricting population booming. The governments should impose the strict laws to limit the children each family has such as the case of China, the largest population nation in the world, in which each nuclear family has only child. China has been controlled effectively its size of population so the country has had the great chance to develop the economy and improve its citizens standard of living.

To conclude, overpopulation brings the starvation, the rise of joblessness and pollution to many countries all over the world. However this situation could be prevented through education and laws.