The world has seen an enormous increase in flights for leisure, business, and commercial purposes around the world over recent years.

What do you think are the main advantages and disadvantages of such flights?

Do you think flights should be taxed more?

Transportation technology continue to make greater strides toward advancing the quality of service in the industry. This continuous development has contributed to a massive growth in the number of leisure, business, and commercial flights worldwide. I believe that these types of flights have pros and cons and adding higher levy on these aviation services can only impede economic growth.

The increase in global trade owed its success from the genuine advances in airline transportation services. With the immense rise in flights for commerce and trade, people around the world can now relish international market culture such as the introduction of food, clothing, and technology that are manufactured locally and distributed globally. In addition to this, convenience in travel cannot be more possible if there were fewer flights available for leisure. Due to the vast number of low-cost air transit trips, competition for airline services ensues which prompts airline industries to boost their services to outdo their competitors. This, in effect, makes travelling more practical and convenient for vacation goers. In the Philippines, for example, airline companies offer frequent price drop of airfare for as low as less than a dollar which is one of the observed business strategies done in surpassing their competitors.

Despite the interesting benefits that the boom of diversified flights brings, its disadvantages cannot be disregarded. When more flights are made available for commercial, trade and business purposes, the local and small-scale entrepreneur will be in jeopardy. The imported products can overshadow the locally made ones because the commodities sold in the local market will become wider in range that can influence customers’ buying decision. An indirect effect of this is that the internationally made products can spark curiosity among customers making local goods as the least option. This trend can also lead to a reduced appreciation of the local market’s culture because the continuous growth of the global trade which springs from multiple flights in commerce can incite diversion of local people’s appreciation of the products. A clear example to this is the choice of cosmetic products among Filipino women. A study revealed that a vast majority of Filipina chose beauty products that are made outside the country and sold locally.

Although the recent global trend on the enormous growth in flights brings potential dissolution of appreciating a local culture and local market, taxing flights would seem impractical because this can only hinder economic growth. The increase in trade and commerce which emanates from the access of airline transport can open more employment opportunities and can bring in more revenue. That is why, adding higher taxes on these aviation services can only lead to slowing economic progress as it can either reduce global trade or cause an exorbitant increase of prices on imported goods.

Taking everything into account, the widely observed proliferation of services in air travel has impacted positively the people and the country. Nevertheless, it brings some disadvantages, but this should not be the basis for adding higher taxes on flights since the effect can only derail economic progress.