The world natural resources are consumed at an ever-increased rate. What

are the dangers of this situation? What should we do?

Accelerating the consumption of natural resources is among the biggest issues facing the world today. This has potential problems which could lead to ecological contamination. In this essay, I shall consider the main threats and try to put forward some possible solutions.

The environment will suffer a major setback when natural resources is increasingly exploited by humans. The consequences may contain a sequence of negative impacts on human’s lives such as water shortages, oil and minerals depletion, loss of forest cover, etc. As of today, approximately one billion people lack access to clean water because of natural water wastage. Likewise, oil and minerals depletion would be devastating because they are essential commodities in manufacturing, planting, mining, and transportation among many activities. Besides, deforestation will inevitably lead to several natural disasters such as soil erosion, increase in the greenhouse gas resulting in global warming, loss of biodiversity, flooding and drought.

The situation calls for prompt actions. First, programs aimed at reducing should be enact to educate people about the importance of conserving natural resources so as to raise awareness of reducing the level of natural resources being misused. The second remedy is to reduce oil, mineral, and material consumption. Manufactures can, for instance, be trained on lean manufacturing (recycling, re-use, and reducing wastage) while consumers sensitized on how to adopt re-use, reducing wastage, and recycling techniques. Third, renewables such as solar and wind power should be explored more and utilized to reduce the dependency on fossil fuel because these alternatives are considered both unlimited and environmental-friendly.

In conclusion, the growing consumption of natural resources in many parts of the world today can cause a range of hazards to the environment and human lives. However, this can be handled by adopting above mentioned suggestions.