The world should have only one government rather than a national government for each country. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people appreciate that there should be only one government in the world rather than a national authority in each nation. This proposal, albeit having certain benefits, would cause more overwhelming problems.

A global government would make fair resources distribution become feasible. This is derived from the fact that geologically, the natural resources are unevenly distributed on Earth. In other words, resources are concentrated in specific places because of the processes by which they form. For example, oil is often found under the seafloor, thus belong to countries bordering the ocean only. A one-world authority would allocate resources equally to all nations worldwide. By contrast, the imaginary unitary government would have thousands of regions with distinctive cultures; therefore the citizens might have different and even diametrically opposing ideologies. As a result, allowing other nations to take advantage of their precious resources seems to be unacceptable for some individuals.

Cutting down on the budget of the governmental workforce is another merit that a single universal authority may bring. By establishing a mutual government, the number of employees would be minimalized. The smaller the workforce is, the less budget is spent on paying workers’ salaries.

The drawback, however, would be more likely to happen. If the only centralized government does not function well, not a single country but all the world will have to suffer from a crisis, leading to adverse consequences on the community such as uncontrollable inflation.

In conclusion, as for the aforementioned explanation, the advantages of having a one-world government would be outweighed by the disadvantages.