Write about the advantages and disadvantages of living in extended family.

Living in an extended family is prefered by some people in this day and age. In this paragraph, i will examine what are the merits and demerits of living with a large extended family.

On the one hand, to live of different ages in a house has several benefits. First and foremost, the old may have a better life condition when living in an extended family.The reason is that the elderly would have young folk taking care of them since the old might have some difficulties doing their own everyday life routine. The elder having problem with walking may need strong youngsters to hold their body for moving form one place to another, for instance. Secondly, living in a multi-generational family, children will know how to connect, share and easily build strong relationships with many people. Children also do not feel lonely or abandoned because they are always cared, protected and well educated by their parents as well as their grandparents.

On the other hand, an extended family brings some disadvantages. The first, differences in psychology, age, lifestyle, and habits lead to an inevitable consequence of conflict between generations. Old people seem to be more conservative than the young ones;therefore, it is exceptionally difficult for teenagers to confide to their parents about sexual orientation and gender identity or job selection,for example. The next, in a joint family, privacy could be the biggest causality. A newly-wed couple may not get enough space and time to talk, considering the many people around them. People who love their independence may feel claustrophobic living with so many new people. To conclude, living in an extended family has a number of benefits, whereas there are also some negative perspectives.