Write about the following topic:

Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

These days, almost all of us have at least a computer of a kind or another, be it a desktop, laptop, PDA, smartphone or tablet. It has helped us in our life and work, thus changing them possibly forever that it is argued that they are the greatest invention of the last 100 years.

Computers have definitely changed our life for the better. As they evolved from the most basic machines with only calculating capabilities to today's small but multi-purpose ones, things have been easier than ever. Calculating and working out revenues and expenses used to be daunting. Computers have allowed us to do so with ease, provided you have the required skills. They also changed the way we are entertained, thanks to digital video and games with crystal clear picture quality and state-of-the-art graphics. With them and the Internet, we can also access a wide world of knowledge and communicate with our loved ones anywhere and at anytime as well as making more friends.

However, once we use them frequently and get addicted to them, they can do harm to us. The beautiful images generated from their screens can cause hallucinations that affects a person's thinking, leading to crimes. The price tags of them can also be prohibitive, thus can prevent the poor from affording them. Remember, they are definitely not needed for our life.

To sum up, computers are undoubtedly the most important invention of the last century, though both positively and negatively. Therefore, we must ultilize them properly to get the most out of them.