You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Individuals can do nothing to improve the environment; only governments and large companies can make a difference.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

In my opinion, governments and large companies can make a big difference to the environment, but individuals can too!

First, it it worth noting that large companies consumes more natural resource and produce more waste - either trash, polluted water or greenhouse gases, or possibly all of them. Therefore, they are most responsible for the worsening condition of the environment. They can reduce the resources and power consumption to generate less waste, as well as invest more and more into preserving the nature for their own sustainable development, as they are really, really rich.

As for the governments: they have the forces to make anyone obey the laws for their goals, and as pressure on protecting the environment from activists and citizens becomes stronger, they have to take it into account also for sustainable development. The United Nations also plays a vital role in forcing its members to make greater efforts to save the planet and prevent pollution. They can, by applying really high tax rates on parties that release a huge amount of pollutants, prevent the environment from being deteriorated any further, as well as use those taxes to better preserve beaches, forests, fields and sea - what contributes to their development (especially economic). That way, they can please citizens and satisfy their needs for longer.

So what can we individuals do? We can just clean the environment around our houses, area or neighborhood. Just clean the trash there, and tell people to litter at the right place. That way, we can still make a difference. Even one person, namely Greta Thurnberg, changed the world's opinion on this matter!

To sum up, I totally disagree. Everyone can make the environment - and so, the planet - better.