Writing, reading and mathematics are the three major subjects. Some people think that computer skills should be added as a fourth subject. What extent do you agree or disagree?

Taking a glance at the education system of many countries, it can be seen that writing, reading and mathematics are fundamental subjects in the training program. However, over the past few years, residents have recommended that these subjects should stay parallel with computer skills. Personally, I totally agree with this statement and this essay will analyze this issue using specific reasons to demonstrate point and prove argument.

First and foremost, individuals in favor of computer skills because of the essential role it plays in our daily life. Indeed, stepping into the 21st century, when state-of-the-art innovation dominate almost industries, computers become indispensible to control machines, regulate automatic processes, as well as research and inventing artificial intelligence. This rising ubiquity makes computer a basic factor of present days’ industry, leading to a heated demand on exploring and adapting to information technology. Therefore, education, the mission of which is fulfilling society’s scholastic needs, should deem computer science as the fourth fundamental subject.

Second, it is widely recognized that computer-related skills are beneficial for the future recruitment. Indeed, it can be seen that employers do not conceal from their candidates several requirements such as typing a number of texts in a specific time, preparing a professional presentation, or designing an attractive poster. Therefore, the more well-acquainted they get with computer, the greater likely they are to have an engaging job. Thus, it is safe to say that equipping a comprehensive array of computer skills for students, schools are more likely to contribute well-qualified employees to the workforce, which build up their reputation and a firm competitiveness.

In brief, the basic approach of computer skills should be encouraged at school because of the huge number of benefits it can bring about.