Writing Task 2: Many people put their personal information online (address, telephone number,...) for everyday activities such as socializing on social networks or banking purposes. Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is true that there are conflicting views about people posting their private information on Internet platforms for daily activities. While some find it convenient because the information could enable them to pay for food online or interact with their friend, in my opinion, it is a negative development since there are drawbacks behind it as hackers may make use of personal information and sell it to the third party.

Firstly, putting posts on modern platforms such as: Facebook, Instagram or Twitter has been a popular trend in the recent years. This action is very suitable for those who intend to buy or sell food online, especially in this period of Covid-19 pandemic. Furthermore, because of distancing, it would be hard for friends and relatives to meet each other face-to-face, and socializing on the Internet seems to be a good choice for everyone.

However, the danger from social network is beyond a doubt. When users demonstrate personal information on social platforms, hackers may pay attention to those and take information from them for their private purposes. Moreover, the information could also be used for bad intention. According to VnExpress report, in 2020, more than 1 million personal photos with private information posted on Facebook had been sold via a website called “Weewee” and the police had taken action to investigate further about it.