Writing task 2

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task

Write about the following topic:

Trying to save endangered animal species from extinction is a waste of valuable resources.

Do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or

experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Over the past 50 years, the issue of whether or not endangered species should be protected from extinction has been a contentious one. Whereas some people may consider it as a drain on national resources, it is my personal belief that those animals deserve careful preservation. The principle reasons for this are as follows.

First and foremost, it is an irrefutable fact that biodiversity helps maintain a balanced ecosystem since the disappearance or introduction of a species would have an adverse effect on the whole ecosystem. In other words, if a single species should become extinct, the whole/entire food chain will be disrupted, affecting various species of flora and fauna, which finally poses a threat to humans’ life. A salient instance is that when there are few predators, grasshoppers can develop on a large scale, which will shortly turn into a locust outbreak, negatively affecting farmers’ crops.

Equally importantly, it would be superficial not to appreciate the crucial role played by differing animals. To embark on, humans rely heavily on crops and agricultural plants for a variety of purposes, ranging from food to economy and thus, if it weren’t for insects’ pollination, we wouldn’t be able to have a bumper crop until now. As a result, crop growth can suffer when such pollen-carrying insects as butterflies, bees, birds and so on are reduced to extinction.

By way of conclusion, I once again reaffirm my position that animals in danger must be preserved from becoming extinct. Not only do they balance the whole ecosystem, but they also have an important role to play in our daily lives.