In many countries, a small number of people earn extremely high salaries. Some people believe that this is good for the country, but others think that governments should not allow salaries above a certain level. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In today’s society, people hold various views as to whether or not the government should adopt maximum wage legislation. Whereas there are persuasive arguments to the contrary, it is my personal belief that everyone is allowed to earn as much as they can.

On the one hand, there are several reasons why it could be argued that the government should enact a maximum wage law. Firstly, it would narrow the pay gap between the highest and lowest earners. Accordingly, this decline in income inequality will have beneficial effects on many firms and companies since a huge sum of money can be allocated to other areas such as promotion or marketing, which helps raise sales figures. Secondly, employees are discouraged from working harder if some people are unfairly offered extraordinarily high pay packages. As a result, this can lead to decreased quality of life in some parts of society and pose a threat to the sustainable development of the entire country.

On the other hand, I agree with those who believe that the nation would suffer from setting a limit on earnings. To embark on, if people are dissatisfied with their low income, they are more likely to be pushed to work in a country where they earn a good salary. Consequently, this brain drain will adversely affect many domestic companies as the absence of a well-educated and skilled workforce will cause a loss of thousands of dollars, resulting in a sluggish economy. Furthermore, if the maximum wage law is abolished, more talented workers, who make significant contributions, are attracted and therefore help to drive a business successfully.

By way of conclusion, although there are compelling reasons to claim that a maximum wage cap is crucial, I reaffirm my position that the government should not set a limit on the wages of higher earners as this can provoke severe impacts on the economic system.