Writing Task 2

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Some people think that physical strength is important for success in sport, while other people think that mental strength is more important. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

You should write at least 254 words.

Some people argue that gaining a physical strength is essential for getting success in sports. However, some believes that mental strength is more important. I would say that winner should possess both the skills.

Firstly, there are myriad of games which require the spontaneous mental response with good physique. For instance, if a person is swimming without an idea that how deep he can go in the sea so that he will not face any oxygen deficiency then it will be a problem for him. Floating in waves require a lot of mental and physical strength as a swimmer should be vigilant.

Secondly, playing a cricket also require a lot of efforts in terms of mental and physical capabilities of a person. For example, if a cricketer is not attentive enough when a bowler is throwing a ball to him then the batsman will hurt himself because that ball might hit him somewhere.

Contrary to the above points, some people maintains that some games require mental intelligence while some require physical. For example, people say that activities like horse riding and playing a basketball is all about physical strength. However, I do not agree with them because if a person does not have the stamina to stand while playing a sport then how can he play a game? Similarly, if he does not have a power to think quickly then how will he be able to make quick decision to get a victory?

In conclusion, I would say that it is mandatory that a person should have the ability to fight to become a winner and one cannot get succeed if either of the ability is missing.