Writing Task 2

You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

More children in developed countries are becoming overweight. This is a serious problem for wealthy countries.

Discuss some causes and effects of this problem. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words

Admittedly, obesity among the juveniles in wealthy Nations are becoming trendy, this is a dangerous issue in the Country. Whereas, unhealthy dietary pattern and lack of exercise are the causes, however, development of food-related diseases, likewise mental disorders are the major effects.

On the one hand, children in developed kingdoms are seriously gaining excessive weight due to unsupervised eating habits, this is because of the fast foods outlets that are cheap, as parents are too busy to cook nutritious meals for them, parents buy these food for them because of its affordability. As an example, recent research concluded that, 85% children from affluence homes are grossly obese, as a result of excessive intake of junk foods, because their care givers are engaged in office work. Furthermore, another reason to developing overweight in children is sedentary lifestyle. Lack of exercise prone one to accumulating excess adipose tissues, which will increase the individual's body mass.

On the other hand, there are many result of obesity

is manifestation of food-related diseases like, juvenile diabetes, this is because the pancreas is unable to secret insulin: a hormone use to digest the excess carbohydrates that are ingested. For example, there are several cases of diabetes in children due to junk foods, nevertheless, another effect of overweight in juvenile is mental disorders like withdrawal to self as they are bigger than their counterparts. This creates social isolation which could bring about suicide ideation among them. For instance, a recent study in UK finds out that 75% of the suicide cases reported are due to unappreciated body sizes.

To conclude, obesity is becoming a trend among youngsters in wealthy societies, because of poor eating habits, lack of exercise, whereas, development of food-related ailments and manifestation of mental disorders are the major resultant effects.