You should spend 40 minutes on this task. Present a written argument or case to an educated reader with no specialist knowledge of the following topic -

Should wealthy nations be required to share their wealth among poorer nations by providing such things as food and education? Or is it the

responsibility of the governments of poorer nations to look after their citizens themselves?

You should write at least 250 words.

Use your own ideas, knowledge and experience and support your arguments with examples and with relevant evidence.

The United Nations has its roots from the end of the Second World War when leaders of different states agreed to help each other cope with the vestiges of the said war. The idea was that, with the sharing of the particular expertise of each member country, all countries will ultimately benefit. One’s strength could be another’s weakness and vice versa. Hence cooperation was forged among the member nations. To this day, the United Nations is helping particular countries in need. Cooperation is a by word where different issues from food to education addressed by all member states.

For developing countries, food is given more importance than education. This is due to the nature of food being an urgent necessity. As a result, education takes a back seat and the general population is left ultimately illiterate. With the number of developing countries in this condition, the world may suffer from the ills of hunger and illiteracy if no one will step in to help and solve this matter.

For this reason, developed countries using the model of the United Nation may be able to extend a hand in providing resources to the developing ones. In return the latter may be able to share some expertise on their end as a bilateral exchange. In essence, both parties are able to benefit, bringing the concept of the United Nations cooperation model into fruition. As the saying goes, no man is an island and in this case, it may be said that no nation is an island as well.