You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic:

Some people claim that not enough of the waste from homes is recycled. They say that the only way to increase recycling is for governments to make it a legal requirement.

To what extent do you think laws are needed to make people recycle more of their waste?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

In recent years, improving recycling by encouraging people to participate in the process has been one of the main aims of governments and politicians all around the world. This goal is not restricted to developed countries, which have enough budget to spend on recycling centres, but is also evident among developing countries. Recycling is the process of converting waste materials to reusable objects and has several benefits to our planet. I think making recycling a legal requirement would accelerate this process.

Obviously, making recycling a legal requirement has a powerful effect on societies and will force people to recycle more of their wastage. There are many steps that governments can take to improve recycling. Firstly, a proper policy should be adopted to encourage people to separate recyclable materials from their rubbish. Secondly, necessary rules and regulations should be implemented against not recycling of household wastages. Furthermore, careless people who violate these rules and do not abide by laws should be penalised.

However, there are other important ways to improve recycling. For example, public awareness about the importance of recycling should be raised through media. Children and pupils should get familiar with recycling in their schools. Moreover, recycling facilities should be increased in cities and towns. Some people believe if there were easy-to- reach recycle bins, they would be more encouraged to participate in the recycling process.

Overall, although I agree that mandatory laws will play the most important role in improving recycling, I cannot deny the positive impacts of other alternative ways.