Young people are getting more influenced by friends than parents or teachers. Do you agree or disagree?

They spend more time with their friends. It is quite natural for them to get influenced by the people they spend more time with.

Parents are the biggest influence on children during the first few years of their life because young children don't get many opportunities to interact with the world outside their family. When they begin to attend school, their friends begin to play more important role in their life. Young children want to dress and behave like their friends.

Friends exert an even bigger influence on teenagers. Teens tend to have rebellious streak in them. They seek freedom and hate it when parents or teachers try to impose restrictions on them. They find the company of their friends more attractive because people of the same age have similar needs, interests and tastes.

Parents and teachers often assume the role of advisers. They are well-meaning, unfortunately, teens hate advice. The huge generation gap between children and their parents do no help the situation either. Teenagers today have access to lot of things that their parents didn't have when they were young. At this age, boys and girls experience an irresistible need to fit in with their group. This need encourages them to adopt the beliefs and behaviors of their friends. Since parents and teachers do not agree with them, they find solace in the company of their friends.

To conclude, I totally agree with the statement that young children are more influenced by their friends than their teachers and parents. However I do not feel this as a positive trend because friends are unlikely to have the unconditional love that the parents have for their children. They also lack the worldly wisdom that parents or teachers have.