Young people are often influenced in their behaviors and situations by others in the same age group. This is called “peer pressure”. Do the disadvantages of peer pressure outweigh the advantages?

Commonly, young generations undergo peer pressure, which forces them to endeavor to achieve what their peers do. From my viewpoint, the positive effects of this phenomenon on individuals are more significant than some minor drawbacks.

In terms of negative aspects, peer pressure might not only cause discontent and even depression in young people but also, in some ways, egg them on to engage in inappropriate behaviors. First and foremost, trying to keep up with the success of friends tends to have a detrimental impact if adolescents experience failures and feel inferior to others, leading to unhappiness and despair. This is an alarming issue as the worst consequence that may happen is suicide and a typical example is Japan where most suicides are among men aged 20-44. In addition, once adolescents are under a lot of peer pressure, following wrong ways to obtain what others have is inevitable. To illustrate, when facing the pressure of being rich, some are likely to be involved in illegal activities, such as drug trading or fraudulent behaviors.

However, I believe that peer pressure plays a crucial role in reinforcing positive habits and attitudes thereby fostering personal growth and then social development. When surrounded by peers who excel academically, and succeed in their careers, the young would be inspired to push their boundaries and strive for greater achievements. For instance, in top-tier universities where numerous students are good at academic fields and soft skills, each individual would be encouraged to broaden their horizons, spend time on sharpening skills and knowledge, and ultimately become comprehensive citizens contributing to social development. In contrast, if there is no comparison with other people, young people might remain complacent and fail to reach their full potential, hindering the sustainable development of each individual and society in the future. To illustrate, in a working environment, without a sense of competition, it can be difficult to have new initiatives to improve productivity and upscale the business as employees do not have the spirit of striving their best like other colleagues to be better every day.

In conclusion, I opine that the positive aspects of this influence trump the negative ones. As long as young people are guided to only focus on beneficial influences, they can thrive in their personal and social lives.