Young people these days tend to be less polite and respectful than in the past. Causes and solutions.

Lifestyle has undergone dramatic changes over couple of decades. It is irrefutable that the modern generation nowadays has become less considerate and civil than in the earlier times. Here,i would like to explore the possible causes of this situation and suggest some ways forward.

There are multifarious causes behind this phenomenon.The most important cause is the disintegration of the traditional joint family system. In today‘s nuclear families, there are no grandparents to teach moral values to children. Parents are busy working and do not spend quality time with children. Consequently, children become self-centred and uncaring for the world around them.

Further emphasizing from my point of view. Nowadays,we are part of a consumerist society. We desire to have the latest things and to get those things we are becoming workaholics. We set goals for ourselves and work hard to achieve them. As a result politeness and respect have taken a back seat. Finally, we have the influence of the western culture. There, it is considered quite normal to argue and question the elders. By contrast,others have conflicting views.

They think that it is necessary to install moral values in children at a young age. So, joint family system should be encouraged. Secondly, community welfare programmes should be part of high school curriculum. We can also take the help of media to show programmes which highlight the good points of earlier times and discourage consumerism. But, the final onus is on the people themselves. They should be willing to change.

To put it in a nutshell, I pen down saying that, in the fast-paced world of today, people have changed and become selfish and self centred, but steps can be taken to re-imbibe some virtues of the olden times.