01/10/2017

Popular events like to football world cup and other international sporting occasions are essential in easing international tensions and releasing patriotic emotions in a safe way.

to what extent do you agree or disagree?

Many believe organizing big sports events is crucial for normalizing relationships among states and discharging patriotic feelings of citizens in a peaceful way. I disagree with this prospect and below the reasons on which my stance is based will be discussed in details.

On the one hand, sporting occasions are important for alleviating international tensions. In fact, Olympic Games were reestablished in the XIX century in a hope to let nations rival each other in a calm, benevolent way when negative emotions to neighbors are being sublimated through associating with national teams or sportspersons who compete in an arena. Furthermore, watching such events as the football World Cup allows individuals who belong to different social classes and occupied on a variety of jobs to be united in their love to their team and state. So, patriotic emotions that otherwise may lead to aggression are released while supporting athletes who compete in a stadium. Thus, it is safe to say sports tournaments have an advantageous influence on an over-all international situation.

On the other hand, the proposed idea appears to be doubtful. Firstly, tensions among states are caused by past wars and conflicts of today’s interests. Those issues are not going to be solved through playing games. To illustrate, the Second World War could not have been stopped by holding any competitions because Germany’ longing to increase its territory would not be addressed in any tournament. Secondly, the nature of any sports event assumes that there are winners and losers. Thus, the people whose team failed to win feel rather a grievance and anger than relaxation and calmness. For an instance, almost any football match can turn into a riot if the fans believe that a judge was bribed or a game was unfair. Consequently, participating in a big competition among countries has some negative facets.

In conclusion, although popular sporting events could have a benevolent impact on an international situation, they do not essential for maintaining the peace among nations, moreover, they occasions may stir people’s discontent.