Some people think that sport teaches children how to compete, while others believe that children learn team work.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some aver that sport develops in our progeny a desire to compete. At the same time, there are those who state that our offspring are taught how to be team players. Below both prospects will be discussed in details and author’s opinion will be stated.

To begin with, for many people sport is embodiment of competition. In fact, almost all sports events are aimed to figure out who is the fastest, the strongest or the best at a particular activity. To illustrate, success of any country that takes part in Olympic Games is measured by a number of trophies and medals its athletes have won. Consequently, youngsters who play or do sports activities are faced with a necessity to achieve success via competition.

However, there are those who tend to believe that those children who participate to athletic activities rather learn how to work in a team. Of course, there are some games such as football and baseball that are played by teams that consist of several people and those young people who play those games are by default have to learn how to work together. Moreover, taking closer look at any sport would reveal that there is always a place for some team work. For instance, even such a highly individualistic activity as running assumes that the athletes exercise with other sportsmen and work with a coach that help him to be prepared for an impending competition. Thus, a sports person acquires knowledge how to be a part of a team.

Finally, it seems that any sport activity requires from the individuals who participate have a desire to compete and a skill of working in a team. Of course, different games demand a distinct proportion of both elements. For instance, box requires from the fighters to be more competitive while playing basketball call in for more team effort and less rivalry with each other.

To sum up, sport as an activity, by definition, requires from those who play to be competitive and at the same time to know how to be a team player. The proportions of these qualities will differ from sport to sport but both will be always present.