Some people believe that an academic education is important for young people. Others believe that experience of the real world and travel is more beneficial.

Discuss both views then give your opinion.

Some individuals believe that an academic education is crucial for young people, while others adhere to the idea that real life experience is more useful. Although the second point certainly has some merits, there is perhaps a stronger argument to be made for the first opinion.

Primarily, being successful and efficient in contemporary society is largely unthinkable without an academic education. In fact, almost all jobs require from an employee some degree of literacy and numeracy. In other words, not having a strong educational background often means not being able to find a decent, well-paid job.

At the same time, there are many people who claim that real-life experience is more beneficial, as a young person who travels abroad and lives on his or her own might well develop strong personal characteristics. In other words, facing reality can forge character and will. However, it is important to understand that strong will and character is formed by difficulties and problems which a person overcomes. As such, there is no need to travel overseas to get life experience, as similar challenges can be faced while studying for a degree.

To sum up, an academic education is a prerequisite nowadays, and may be perceived as something of an essential requirement. Of course, life experience is necessary as well, but this can also be attained while studying.