Some people believe that an academic education is important for young people. Others believe that experience of the real world and travel is more beneficial.

Discuss both views then give your opinion.

Academic education has been part of children's curriculum from last many decades. But, it is undeniable that we always look for guidance from someone who had better real world experience and travel irrespective of how much academic knowledge we have. It is commonly believed by many that academic education is essential for young people while others believe that real life experience is more beneficial. This essay will examine both the views and provide my opinion about the same.

To begin with, academic education has been part of our learning since many decades and it has also been seen that academic knowledge is basics for our living. Let us take a very simple example, when we buy a new blender, we always had to look its manual or instructions to learn how it works we cannot use it otherwise. Academic knowledge has always been a base for practical knowledge. This proves that academic education is an essential part of school education that offers information and improves concentration. In a survey conducted by Harvard University in the year 2010, it was found that only 2% of people who had immense real life experience was offered job and others were rejected because of lack of academic background.

On the other side, Only theoretical knowledge itself is of no use until we put it into actions. So, to some extent real life experiences are also essential to learn and become smart and productive person. For an instance, learning all the computer programming fundamentals and do not implementing into machinery will be of no use so theory without practical is incomplete. It has been found that we learn better from our own experiences. For example, a person who has drove a car to Mt. Washington knows the risks involved in driving however, a person who has just given a theory test cannot describe it all.

In my opinion, real world activities are more beneficial.They give better realistic experience that a person remembers for rest of his life as compared to anything that he has been taught by someone at some place.For an example, a youth who saved a life of his friend by offering mouth to mouth oxygen would never realized it's advantage until he did it himself no matters how many times he had been taught the same in his school.

In conclusion, both academic education and real life experiences are essential for the growth of young people.Both of them have equal learning opportunities for youth however, I personally believe that practical knowledge through the experience of real world and travel is more beneficial as they could be self analysed and require your sense of understanding, prompt reaction and many other skills which an academic education would lack.