19/10/2017 Many people are using credit cards or loans to run up huge personal debts that they may be unable to repay. It should therefore be made more difficult for individuals to borrow large amounts of money. What are your opinion on this?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Having an enormous debt that difficult to run up has become a widespread problem. Many believe making borrowing money more challenging for citizens is an efficient way to address the issue. I personally disagree with this prospect and author’s opinion will be given below.

Primarily, the proposed policy would have an adverse impact on state’s economy. Firstly, setting up a new business or a firm will turn into an extremely difficult enterprise. In fact, without bank finances, people would not have needed resources, and this situation could provoke a rising of monopolies that will thrive not being challenged by new arrivals. Secondly, the bank system will face serious hardships because bankers are making up to forty percent of their revenue on giving affordable credits to the population. If profit of bankers decreases, the volume of taxes paid to the government will inevitably decline as well. Those examples illustrate a disadvantageous effect of the policy on the overall economy.

Furthermore, average folks will suffer from the proposal. For instance, buying a house, an apartment or even an automobile will become very problematic because in average each of those items costs a large amount of money that a regular person does not have. Saving up such a great deal of cash could take years and will be impeded by whims and desires of a person to spend the dollars on something else. Consequently, the standards of living will surely decline. Moreover, sometimes individuals have an urgent and important cause to take a loan. To exemplify, if someone's property was struck by a hurricane of a severe storm, it could require immediate maintenance or even repair but the victim of the catastrophe may not have the resources and making taking a credit inconvenient will merely make the life of the survivor more miserable. In other words, using the policy would worsen lives of millions.

In my opinion, although the trend in discussion is a real problem, creating barriers for taking loans will not solve it, instead, the actions will undermine the economy and well-being of people.