2. It is neither possible nor useful for a country to provide university places for a high proportion of young people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Recently, there is a trend that young people prefer to study in universities than in vocational schools. But it is impossible and un-useful for country to provide universities for most youngsters. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this view and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs.

It is unable to offer university for most young people. The first reason is that university could afford money to build campuses for all young people. Even if new campuses were constructed, it is difficult for university to operate and maintain. The second reason is that university entrance standards would need to be lower. As the result, students with low grades in entrance exams would enter universities but they unable to follow courses in universities. Even if they would graduate, they may not meet requirements of employers. Therefore, every year, there are thousands of graduated students could not find job.

It is not worth providing universities for high proportion of young people because many works do not require people with bachelor degree. Instead, employers usually need skilled worker in different fields such as construction, agriculture, nursing and tourism. Nowadays, many developed countries have been being lack of skilled technicians and they must hire people from developing countries. Therefore country should provide more vocational schools instead of too many universities. As the result, young people will have more options whether they should study university or vocational school. This would help to balance the percentage of people working in different works and sector of economy.

In conclusion I totally agree with the statement that country should not only focus on building university but also technique schools.