The advantage of the spread of English as a global language will continue to outweigh its disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, modern world becomes a small village in which English is known almost by the majority of the residents of the globe and it acts as a powerful tool in marketing, education, tourism industry and the like. The expansion of English as a global language has its benefits and drawbacks. I believe that the drawbacks by far outweigh the benefits. This will be discussed in this essay.

The expansion of English has been criticized by a group of sociologists and experts in the recent years. Some people worry that if one single language becomes dominant, other languages will disappear and the language of the small communities will be in danger of extinction in the future. On the other hand, it will have some detrimental effects on the culture, custom and tradition since the dominant language will bring its own culture with it. Besides, the senior citizens of the society will find it difficult to learn a new language and it leads to a polarized society in which individuals will suffer the lack of intelligibility.

Sharing a single language can bring benefits worldwide too. Firstly, global adoption of a single language can mean a lot in terms of economic industry. As an example, International companies have the chance to find workers who can speak English easily and communicate with overseas companies in trading and marketing. Secondly, it brings more job opportunities for people who are seeking for a decent job. Finally, it can bring people much closer and gives them the chance to contribute in a better way.

To sum up, although the expansion of English language globally may have determinant effects on developing a society, it will cause some deterring effects on the existence of cultures and traditions of the inhabitants of some areas.