Advertising influences people to buy things such as clothes and shoes. What are the problems caused by that? What solutions can be given?

It goes without saying that advertisements have a drastic impact on people's buying habits. It encourages people to buy unnecessary extra things that are not required at the spur of the moment such as apparel and footwear. In this essay, I will point out the problems for this trend and also elucidate plausible solutions for the same.

To embark on, excessive splurging on items under the influence of commercials leads to wastage of one's hard-earned money. Additionally, the hefty cost spent by brand owners in getting onboard celebrities to endorse is all paid by customers when they buy such branded items. Moreover, these adverts

always target the most sensitive and vulnerable section of the society, that is youngsters. Another problem associated here is, purchasing things that are not required leads to a waste of resources. For instance, juveniles who consider an individual as a role model and sees him or her in any product promotions, hence they hastily buy the item without a second thought of its usage in real life. As a result, the product is left unattended in some corner of the hours which could be better utilized by someone in need of it.

To curb these temptations or issues, strict standards should be set by the government. To elaborate, authorities could scrutinize each and every add or tv commercial before it is telecasted. Therefore, not only appropriate content will be shown but also masses will be educated about the detrimental impact of advertisements leading to less wastage of resources. In addition to this, the younger generation should be taught about managing their finances. This will help in preventing adolescents from being swayed by lucrative adverts. As an illustration, if children are enlightened about the advantages of saving and earning money, then it is less likely that they will be influenced by these brands. This is the responsibility of parents and to some extent of teachers as well to inculcate these principles in children.

In conclusion, the most effective way to stop the harmful impact of advertisement is to undertake stringent measures in thoroughly checking the motives of the adverts before displaying on social media platforms. Furthermore, awareness about the importance of capital and funds in the early years will go a long way to keep a check on these urges.