In most developed countries shopping is not only about buying the goods you need, it is also perceived as entertainment. Is it a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, in this contemporary era, shopping is one of the most famous past time. In many developed nations, consumerism is looked upon not only as a medium for purchasing products, rather it is seen as a form of amusement. This essay will argue that this is a negative trend because of the adverse influence of marketing campaigns and advertisements on people and therefore making it a very unproductive activity.

The main reason for customers buying luxurious products is getting swayed by marketing campaigns. The primary focus of these multinational companies is to constantly manipulate consumers into buying items that would increase their profit. Customers, on the other hand, are influenced by these attractive ads that ignore the hidden motive behind it. For example, clothing brands like Gucci and Prada try to lure people that only if they wear their apparel, will they survive in high profile society. Moreover, they show celebrities and glamorous models in order to look more persuasive in their act.

Secondly, shopping for accessories which are not really required, is a complete waste of time. Not only this, but it is also a complete misuse of our hard-earned money. On the other hand, this valuable time could be utilized in performing interesting art or learning something new which would be useful in the long run. For instance, youngsters can devote their time to playing into playing indoor or outdoor sports whereas adults can adopt reading as a habit. If we compare these hobbies to shopping, we can clearly identify how unfulfilling and unsatisfying shopping can be in one's life. This proves that there are copious ways to make the best use of time instead of indulging in futile things.

To conclude, people should only shop for necessities and not for leisure and pleasure things because they are danger to firms trying to convince customers with unnecessary purchases. In addition, there are multiple constructive ways to spend free time than to waste on something like shopping.