Today children are spending much more time watching TV compared to the past. Why do you think this happens? Is this a positive or a negative change?

Undoubtedly, television has become a part and parcel of our daily routine. Due to technological advancement, these devices attract the most attention of children who end up spending most of their day glued to these screens. I personally believe that this is a negative trend and peer pressure and innovation in the gaming and filming industry are the real culprits.

To begin with, these days youngsters waste most of their precious time by sitting in front of these boxes. The real reason behind this is great influence or rather pressure from friends. Moreover, when adolescents see their peers watching certain tv shows or movies and finding it amusing, they themselves want to imitate them, despite not liking it, in order to be abreast with the latest trend and be a part of the group. As a result, they end up wasting their precious time which they could have utilized for other activities. Furthermore, the latest developments in high-quality video games and 3-D animation movies attract these young minds to another extent. Consequently, they are prone to tv screens all the time to experience these gaming adventures, not realizing the detrimental effects.

In addition to this addiction, there are numerous negative effects on these young citizens. First of all, watching TV beyond a stipulated amount of time has adverse effects on health and fitness. The rays coming from the screens lead to the extreme dryness of the eye causing the itchy feeling and eventually spectacles at an early age. Secondly, children tend to forget to look after their well-being. For instance, sitting engrossed in games or videos, kids forget to have a check on the quantity of junk food consumed. Therefore, they end up gaining weight and suffer from obesity. According to a recent survey, obesity is commonly seen around 35% among children below the age of 10. Hence, if appropriate parental guidance and monitoring are not taken then the situation can become worse.

To conclude, even though watching television programs may seem amusing and exciting for the younger generation, in the long term it can lead to perilous effects on their health. It is of utmost importance that parents take control and involve children in various outdoor activities or mind games for the development of their cognitive and social skills.