Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Does the advantage of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this era of globalization, it is often beneficial to be multilingual. Some people opine that elementary school should be the

starting point of an additional language learning curve, while others feel secondary schools are more appropriate. In this essay, I

will display how the primary school is declared a winner in this argument.

To begin with, young minds are better at absorbing new information. To add to it, child psychologists often mention that the formative

years of learning happen in the first few years itself. Therefore, whenever a child is exposed to any form of knowledge, it is retained and remembered. Moreover, children are not hesitant to try out new things. This is because they are not afraid of others

that if they speak wrongly then people will laugh. Due to this carefree mind and intellectual abilities, a child is in a good position to grasp any new information with respect to any language. For example, Malaysia's primary school curriculum includes learning Malay, Chinese, and English and almost all kids can comprehend in these three lingos before they are teenagers.

On the other hand, a strong argument can be made on the opposite side. Opponents believe that introduction of foreign language

at a tender age could negatively influence their identity and their speaking of their mother tongue. For instance, a recent study

in Egypt revealed that pupils who studied English from grade 1 got lower marks in Arabic as compared to their peers who were

taught English later. Furthermore, some may even feel that the inclusion of extra subjects may lead to additional stress on young minds and they may not be able to handle more pressure. Additionally, letting children start learning a foreign language while they are in secondary school also enables them to choose the language of their interest.

In conclusion, apart from minor disadvantages, educating children in kindergarten to be multilingual facilitates the learning

languages process afterward because of their innate abilities and they will be able to enjoy a healthy learning environment

which will be beneficial in the long run.