As countries develop, people tend to buy more and more cars. Do you think the advantages for the individual outweigh the disadvantages for the environment?

Undeniably, in this technologically advanced and competitive era, people's tendency to buying commodities is increased due to the development and growth of nationalities. One such trend seen is a spike in the sale of cars, as a result of the luxurious needs of the masses. However, I completely disagree with this notion as it brings more problems to the environment as opposed to certain benefits to individuals.

To embark on, automobiles have brought relief in the hectic commute life of a resider of a metropolitan city. Firstly, it becomes convenient for people to travel long distances, by sitting in an air-conditioned car, without getting fried in the scorching heat of sun. Moreover, the flexibility of leaving for the workplace at your own time without scheduling your day as per the time table of public transport leaves ample amount of time for other activities on the way such as dropping children to school, buying groceries or even taking any calls on the way is accompanied by a driver. Secondly, motor cars are extremely helpful during emergencies where we have to reach the hospital within a stipulated time period.

Despite these advantages, I personally believe that there are copious hazards caused by these motor vehicles to our Mother Earth. First of all, exhaust fumes such as greenhouse gases emitted continuously from engines degrade the air quality. Consequently, humans are facing difficulty in breathing, resulting in numerous diseases. A recent survey revealed that 35% of respiratory disease cases among patients were due to damaged lungs caused by exhaust fumes. if such a situation persists, that day is not far when the earth will become an inhabitable place. Furthermore, rapidly increasing fuel consumption and carbon dioxide is one of the contributors of global warming resulting in the melting of ice caps. The adverse effects of this event are increasing in the water levels leading to floods and is a major cause of concern to our environment.

To conclude, despite some pros of making life easier for mankind by providing relief in terms of travel and time, the cons such as climatic changes and an increase in the number of diseases due to excessive usage of cars on our environment greatly outnumber the advantages.