Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In this competitive era, sports advertising is considered the best way of marketing products. Some people opine that it is the best medium to reach a larger audience, while others argue that it has negative effects. In this essay, I will elucidate both points of view and say why I believe that it has more positives than disadvantages.

To begin with, the sports industry is a lucrative field around the globe, where companies promote and publicize their products. Therefore, it provides an excellent platform to increase sales and bring profit to the table. For instance, numerous companies fund and sponsor various cricket matches with the intention to gain huge returns. Moreover, sportspersons and their team also benefit, in terms of monetary gains and popularity by participating in these adverts. Additionally, it also results in an improvement in their overall performance on the field.

On the other hand, there are certain cons for this. First of all, these advertisements have a negative influence on the citizens in terms of reckless buying of items, which are not the need of the hour. Consequently, it leads to wastage of one's hard-earned money by investing in copious brands. As an illustration, people following the footsteps of their role models like Roger Federer or Mahindra Singh Dhoni, if they see them featuring in ads endorsing footwear or apparel, youngsters tend to impulsively buy the same products. Hence, careful monitoring by parents and stringent screening of adverts from the government is required.

To conclude, even though there are certain drawbacks to these sports advertisements, overall positives outnumber the negatives. In my opinion, these commercials are beneficial for the overall economy and boosting businesses if done effectively without adapting to wrong methods such as corruption and bribery.