Some companies sponsor sport and sports stars as a way to advertise themselves. Some people think it is good, while others think there are disadvantages. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Certain people are of the opinion that sport sponsorships is a great marketing tool in order to gain popularity, while others believe that there are some drawbacks which have led to communication crisis. This essay will discuss both views and give my personal opinion that the previous view brings more beneficials for companies.

There are a wide range of reasons why it is often believed that enterprises should get associated with sport events and strats. Firstly, sport sponsoring is considered as a method of advertising to reach customers efficiently. One reason behind this is well-known sports stars have a huge fan base who are willing to buy products just because it is endorsed by their idols. As a result, the brand value, sales and revenue tend to increase significantly. Secondly, without sponsorship, many sporting competitions and events could not operate. For instance, the largest sporting event, FIFA World Cup, requires millions of dollars to organise, sponsors provide a large amount of needed money. This means that if there were no sponsors, ticket prices would be extremely high, which possibly leads to matches at risk of cancellation because spectators cannot afford it.

Despite the above argument, some support the view that it might come to a communication crisis if brand ambassadors who convey the message of brand are caught in scandals such as adultery or racism. This is because it causes criticism and boycott from customers leading to reduced profitability. For example, Tiger Woods, who is a legendary golfer and adulterer as well, makes Nike damage millions of dollars and a loss of thousands customers.

In conclusion, funding sports have some shortages, I believe that this has various merits. This is because it can create publicity for consumers and give an opportunity for everyone to witness sports matches.