It is suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?It is suggested that primary children should learn how to grow vegetables and keep animals. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Recent decades have witnessed the increasing popularity of teaching gardening technique in elementary to preschoolers. Many people claim their benefits in terms of understanding the natural world, while others state their drawbacks regarding the practicality of this educational method. In my opinion, the advantages of this one outweigh their shortcomings.

On the one hand, introducing gardening could be seen as an effective method for children. Firstly, this is because of a great way to help them acquire knowledge not found in textbooks. For example, by spending time on the farms, children might witness the growth of plants as well as die without watering. As a result, this technique triggers pupils’ curiosity to explore more about outdoor environment. Secondly, a good reason for this measurement is aim to encourage healthy eating. It is a well-know fact that if teachers engage students in growing their own vegetables, they gain a keen interested in enjoying foods which plant by themselves.

On the other hand, it is impractical to add gardening at primary schools because of the trouble of this ambitious curriculum. Many inner city schools might be difficult to have access to farms with far distance which are located mostly in rural areas. Moreover, school administrators would need to convince parents, who agree to sponsor this funding, the same benefits of this program for their children as studying theoretical subjects in classes.

In conclusion, learning about growing vegetables and keeping animals provides children with the development of natural knowledge and how to keep health fit, whereas their damages that result from the difficulty of joining this course in a far away from cities and being given parents’ permission could not be realistic. It seems to me that advantages of gardening subject are likely to outweigh drawbacks in the long run.