As countries become more developed, many fast food outlets move into the country giving local people greater access to fast food.

Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Recent decades have witnessed many fast food restaurant chains ha becoming popular in present day. Many people claim their benefits in term of a suitability for modern life, while others state their drawbacks regarding detrimental effects on health. In my opinion, the merits of fast food outweigh their shortcomings.

On the one hand, the advantage of fast food is convenient and suitable for modern lifestyle of young generation. Fast food is made from pre-cooked or pre-heated ingredients which have delicious taste, attractive aroma. Customers will be served on-site or by take-away packaging. This means that they might enjoy their meal while chatting or walking, which leads to more time for different activities in lieu of taking much time to prepare a meal. To illustrate the popularity of fast food is the increasing of the number of their stores rapidly whole the word such as KFC, McDonald’s or Subway…

On the other hand, the disadvantage of fast food is the detrimental effects on people’s health. This is because fast food, such as french fries, deep fried chicken or hamburger, is made from materials which the majority consists of being rich in carbohydrate, protein with low fiber. Moreover, fast food is less healthy than home-made meals as it contains higher amounts of salts, fats and additives. It is evidence that children who are likely to consume the most pizza and sausage leads to a slowing in development of certain processes in the brain. Therefore, the overconsumption of such type of food have a tendency to contribute to the increasing rate of obesity as well as to diseases.

In conclusion, the expansion of the chain of fast food brands might provide people with making modern life convenient, whereas their damage that results from the overconsumption of such type of food will effect on health. I believe that advantages will likely outweigh disadvantages in the long run.