advertising is influencing people more and more. Is this positive or a negative trend? Give your own opinions and examples.

We are constantly surrounded by adverts, from television commercials, billboards to posters on the roads. People have distinct mindset about the effects of advertising on our lives. In my viewpoint, there are both positive and downside of advertisement.

To begin, there are two main reasons why it could be argued that advertising has numerous benefits in our lives. Firstly, commercials play an imperative role in the economy. Companies need to tell customers about their products and services. Advertisement informs us about the choice we have and the use of the product. For instance, Kellogg’s cornflakes have a variety of flavors for different range to offer for different age groups and for people want to lose weight, thus giving consumers different choice to select from.

Secondly, advertising is a creative industry that employs many people. Therefore, providing ample job opportunities and income for many people. So, without advertising, there would be a higher unemployment rate. To illustrate, a recent survey carried out by one of the leading ad agency in India suggests that creative jobs could get a major hiring boost in coming years ahead, as jobs for advertising and promotions are expected to grow 10% through next year, faster than the average for all occupations.

Nevertheless, some critics argue that advertising has an adverse effects on children. One problem is that advertiser often aim their marketing strategies towards the young age groups. Children, for instance, can easily be influenced by ad campaigns. So this put additional burden on their parents to buy them certain products by nagging and pestering. Beside this, children may also tend to have lower self-esteem if they believe themselves to be inferior for not owing the various product that are advertised, specially if their peers and friends posses these items.

To recapitulate, there are convincing arguments both for and against advertising. However, I believe that advertising have more positive effects on our lives such as social and economical aspects and I recommenced that publications should be regulated and controlled which aimed at children.