Air transport is increasingly used to export fruit and vegetables to countries where they cannot be grown or are out of season.What are the advantages and disadvantages of this?

In ancient times, people grow crops in their local fields and consume it locally in their areas. But now the globalization has changed the world and made it possible for country to export their fruits and veggies to a different country through cargo air. Now people from any particular region can taste any food which is not available in their area, but it cost a fortune to import food from a different part of the world.

At the outset, there are numerous ways how commercial air service of food made farmers' life hassle free and ours enjoyable, but the most conspicuous one stems from the fact that it is now possible for anyone to enjoy any fruit, veggie or food that someone used to wish few decades ago. Not everyone is lucky enough to have all kind of fruits or vegetables in his country, in this case, air cargo is no less than a blessing to supply those items to that particular city or country. For instance, Avocado is not grown in Pakistan, but it is still available in supermarkets of Pakistan because it is imported from Australia. Therefore, it is not possible to deny the importance of air shipment in fresh food industry.

Nevertheless, there remain some drawbacks which can certainly overwhelm the potential influence of air cargo services for fresh fruits, but the most alarming one is rooted in the fact that the cost of transportation is so high that most of the times it becomes almost impossible for an ordinary man to afford those vegetables or fruits. Take the Kiwi for example, it is so expensive in India that only upper class people can afford it, middle class man check his pocket twice before thinking to buy it. This is why, it is indispensable to look for other options as well to make all kind of fruits and vegetables available everywhere for everyone.

To put into a nutshell, the importance of air services to export fruits and vegetables is so high but the price it comes with should not be overlooked.