Air travel only benefits the richest people. The majority of people get no advantage from development of air travel. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Air travel increased multifold and more & more people are getting benefits by this development. However, there is perception exists that only rich people are getting advantages and rests of the people have no benefits. I completely disagree that wealthy people are the only beneficiaries.

First of all, Airline sector is one of the major sectors in mostly countries which generate employment all around the year. People have opinion that poor people do not travel by air so it is of no use but to run the airlines employ every grade of employees which includes porter, ground staff, pilot, management etc. For example, Indigo airline started its operation from small airports in India and recruited 1000o people for various profiles, particularly ground staff, customer support, porter. For other miscellaneous work like food, entertainment etc. airline outsource the work to different industries. As a result, other industries are boosted and generate the employment as well.

Secondly, another benefits for airline is cargo operation which transfer good and materials from one part of world to another. Though most of the cargo operation is done by the ship, airline cargo is used for immediate transfers of couriers, medicine and other key products. For instance, my uncle who was in hospital, was referred the medicine which is manufactured in U.S.A. and on doctor advice, medicine was delivered within 12 hours which saved the life of my uncle.

To conclude, while majority of people travel by air belongs to upper middle class, still there are lots of benefits like employment, cargo etc. are availed by every section of society including poor class.