For all children, the ability to play a musical instrument is just as important as the ability to read and write.’ How far do you agree with this suggestion? How important is it for a child to learn to play a musical instrument, in your view?

In the continuous evolving modern world, there are a lot of transitions occurring in all sectors including the educational sector. Edification once was confined to science, technology and languages. However, these days music and sports are assimilated into education. Some say that playing musical instrument should be given equal prominence as much as reading and writing. I do not agree with this view.

In the first place, I feel Rudimentary education such as reading and writing should not be compared with music and arts. Teaching the abilities of writing and reading are imperative because they constitute to the growth of an individual irrespective of the career one choose. Additionally, with these abilities, a person is considered a literate which in turn reflects the literacy rate of the nation. Government focuses on literacy to envisage the phase of development of the country. India, one of the rapidly developing nations placed major emphasis on elementary education so that more youngsters get employed in diverse sectors.

Nevertheless it is always a good idea to introduce children to arts at an early age. Making them learn music could develop them into professional musicians but music and art is one such field where everybody would not be able to make a career. These interests should either be existing innately or be nurtured. Pupils have to be given a choice to opt to these talents rather than imposing on them. Some may be interested in sports, some in arts, some in science and some in music. A recent survey by Professors at University of California indicated that 67% of students under the age 15 studying at music schools are forced to learn music while there interests differed.

In conclusion, though teaching musical instruments to children is a positive facet, I strongly feel,it should be their choice, while reading and writing have more relevance to them.