All over the world, societies are facing a growing problem with obesity. This problem affects both children and adults. What are the reason for this rise in obesity, how could it be tackled?
Nations everywhere are suffering from rises in obesity in people of all ages. This is due
to the effects of advancing smart technology as well as fast food and poor diet. A few different
solutions present themselves to tackle this issue.
One important factor that causes obesity in society is the advancement of computer
technology and smart devices. In other words, smart technology’s growth means that obesity in
people will continue to be a problem because robotics is replacing human labor, and smart
devices are replacing physical activity as entertainment. Another trend contributing to obesity is
that the quality of our food is diminishing, but the availability of unhealthy food is increasing.
Junk food and fast food, which are found and consumed everywhere in the world, are high in
calories but low in nutritional value.
Two viable solutions are available to deal with the growing epidemic of obesity
worldwide. The first solution is that governments, globally, could provide incentives to develop
apps and technology that support a healthy lifestyle. Applications, which are very popular, that
promote a healthy way of living could help to counteract expensive medical care and reduce
occurrences of obesity. Another method of reducing obesity is for governments, all over the
world, to subsidize health-food stores in order to decrease the prices of more nutritional options.
This is an effective solution because healthy food is expensive and people choose what to buy
based largely on price.
In closing, government incentives to create lifestyle apps, and also subsidies for health
food stores, present promising solutions for the growing issue of obesity in children and adults.
If governments took a more aggressive role in promoting healthy modern lifestyle practices,
obesity would cease to be an issue.