Some people think placing advertisements in schools is a great resource for public schools that need additional funding, but others think it exploits children by treating them as a captive audience for corporate sponsors.

Choose which position you most agree with and discuss why you chose that position. Support your point of view with details from your own experiences, observations or reading.

Whilst public schools are largely underfunded, advertisements in schools can often condition children to grow up with certain superficial values.

Often public schools have extremely intelligent students who cannot afford to attend a better funded school due to family circumstances. Although it could be argued that such a great mind could be better utilised and developed in a better funded school with more opportunities available, advertisements may hinder the growth and negatively impact the child. The minds of children are easily molded and influenced, especially within the context of the school environment where learning is enhanced. Advertisements encourage consumerism, superficiality and can often condition a brain against independent thought. I believe that advertisements only show what is 'in vogue' which would discourage individual expression (whether it be through clothes, hairstyles or tastes). As it is, school playgrounds are highly complex social environments, where segregation frequently occurs and many students are osterizised and teased. Displaying advertisements at school would only reinforce what society deems as acceptable and would further isolate any students who felt 'different' to their peers. Furthermore, advertisements encourage consumerism and make impressionable students want to spend money on expensive things to validate themselves and fit in with their peers.

School can often be a very difficult and confusing time, as students are growing up and learning more about themselves. The fewer expectations placed on them (particularly from society; through advertisements), allows them to grow into more confident adults who are comfortable with themselves, can accept themselves and have the right values.