Almost everyone agrees that we should be training children to recycle waste to save the Earth’s natural resources. Some believe that it is parents who should teach their children to recycle waste. Others argue that school is the best place to teach do this. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

Most people would agree that young people need to be taught about the importance of recycling waste products and packaging. There is a difference of opinion, however, whether this should happen at home or in schools. In this essay, I will examine both points of view and then state my opinion.

The argument in favour of teaching children at school about recycling is largely based around the idea that children learn best at school. This is because teachers have a natural authority over their pupils who are used to learning from them and schools are a natural environment for learning. Additionally, the need for recycling could easily be included in the school curriculum in biology and geography classes.

There are two main reasons why people think parents taking responsibility for this training could be more effective. The first is that the majority of recycling takes place in the home and parents can therefore more easily control the recycling habits of their children. If, for example, parents see their child put a recyclable bottle in the wrong bin, they can explain that it needs to go in another bin. The other very practical point is that often children spend more time at home than at school and so parents may have more effect.

My own view is that the best solution is for children to learn about recycling both at home and at school. In this way, they would learn about both the theory and the practice