It is important for children to learn the difference between right and wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn this distinction.

To what extent do your agree or disagree with this opinion?

What sort of punishment should parents and teachers be allowed to use to teach good behaviour to children?

Many people would agree that prompt development of conscience in the kids is consequential. There is a difference of opinion, however, whether using the punishing-approach is appropriate for that or not. I firmly believe that any physical or verbal abuse for the sake of discipline them is unacceptable and should be avoided.

My strong belief of refraining from using the penalising approach is primarily based around the idea that this technique has nothing but dire psychological consequences on the personality of the child. The parents use hitting or swearing publicly to their offspring to teach them and remind them their limits. Nevertheless, according to the prominent Psychologists as well as socio-behavioural studies, the kids suffer from the spanking and smacking are more likely to possess more challenging behaviour, depression and anxiety.

There are various ways to encourage the kids in developing conscience including empathy, support, advise and praise. All these ways cannot only be beneficial in building the character of a child also make him a self-disciplined and responsible part of the society. Other than these ways, to me time-outs and withholding the pocket money are only doable forms of disciplinary penalties. As far as teachers concern, the quite or naughty corner could play a significant role to keep the order of a classroom.

In conclusion, I am in the opposition of using any form of physical or verbal assault to teach them discipline as it can damage their mental health. Light penalties of financial or enjoyment deprivation can cast a positive impact to clarify the behavioural limits for the kids.