Nowadays animal experiments are widely used to develop new medicine and to test the safety of other products. Some people argue that these experiments should be banned because it is morally wrong to cause animal to suffer, while other are in favour of these because of their benefit to humanity. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Animal testing has long been contentious issue by the emergence of well-established animal activist society. While proponents, of animal inclusion as a part of creating new product, consider it inevitable for the human progress, I firmly believe that these practices should be forbidden due to their dire consequences on animal species.

To those who think that any scientific development is impossible without including animals as a trial, perhaps, the principal argument is the accelerated pace of advancement in science resulted since the introduction of the test dose method involving various species of rats, dogs and guinea pigs. For instance, as stated in METRO Australia, 90 percent of the dog anatomy resembles to human anatomy and all the ortho-medicines are successful due to their pre commercial launch experiments on dogs.

To those who oppose, the trying out any new product on naive creature without any certainty of the result, the animal testing is nothing but a cruelty and should be prohibited through legislation. In my opinion, every creature, great or small, has an inherent right to experience ultimate freedom and confining any creature for the sake of experimentation or the production of commercial product is barbaric. Take the report published in the journal of Animal Rights 2011 as an example, the statistics shows that 12000 animals underwent severe pain and suffering in Pakistan in the name of product tester.

In conclusion, even though people argue that animal testing is valuable for humans, I, as a human, strongly oppose the notion and consider it as most painful scientific procedure.